Skip to Content

‘What to Do While Visiting Halifax’ Picks

(Suggested by committed Haligonian, Jeff Kirby)

Touristy (but cool) Places to Visit

On-Water Harbour Action

Pubs

North End Brewing Companies

Popular Student ‘Happy Hour’ Locations

Outdoor Beer

Wine

Cocktails

Cider

Good Coffee

Music

Dancing Clubs

Food

Breakfast/Brunch

o Norbert’s (Halifax Seaport Market) | https://selwoodgreen.com/
o The Nook | http://www.thenookhfx.ca/
o Coastal Cafe | http://thecoastal.ca/index.html
o Lion & Bright | https://www.lionandbright.com/
o Black Sheep | https://blacksheephalifax.com/
o Heartwood (vegetarian) | http://www.heartwoodhalifax.ca/
o Pete’s Gluten-free Eatery | http://petes.ca/market/glutenfree/
o Edna | http://ednarestaurant.com/
o Morris East | http://morriseast.com/
o Envie | https://www.enviehalifax.com/
o Foggy Goggle | http://thefoggygoggle.ca/

Fiscally-conscious Choices for Evening Meals

o 2 Doors Down (some good vegetarian options) | https://www.go2doorsdown.com/
o Black Sheep | https://blacksheephalifax.com/
o Antojo Tacos + Tequila (Mexican) | http://antojo.ca/
o Gahan House Harbourfront | http://halifax.gahan.ca/
o Stubborn Goat Gastropub | https://www.stubborngoat.ca/halifax/
o Foggy Goggle (some good vegan choices) | http://thefoggygoggle.ca/
o Salvatore’s Pizzaiola Trattoria (Hydrostone Market, North End) | https://www.salvatorespizza.ca/
o Mappatura Bistro (Italian-inspired) | https://mappaturabistro.ca/
o Efes Turkish Cuisine | http://www.efesturkishcuisine.com/
o Brooklyn Warehouse | http://brooklynwarehouse.ca/
o Morris East (gourmet pizzeria) | http://morriseast.com/
o Field Guide (tapas-style) | https://fieldguidehfx.com/
o Le Bistro by Liz | https://www.lebistrohalifax.com/
o The Armview (diner-style) | http://www.thearmview.com/
o The Canteen (Dartmouth) | http://www.thecanteen.ca/
o Battery Park Beerbar & Eatery (home of the ACE burger in Dartmouth) | http://batterypark.ca/
o Envie (vegan) | https://www.enviehalifax.com/
o Heartwood (vegetarian) | http://www.heartwoodhalifax.ca/
o Wooden Monkey (vegetarian) | https://www.thewoodenmonkey.ca/
o McKelvies Seafood Restaurant | http://mckelvies.com/
o Cha Baa (Thai with good vegetarian options) | http://chabaathairestaurant.ca/
o Wasabi House (sushi) | http://wasabihouse.ca/wasabi-house-halifax/
o Dharma-Sushi | http://dharmasushi.ca/

Moderate-price Choices for ‘Foodies’

o Edna | http://ednarestaurant.com/
o Little Oak | http://littleoakbar.ca/
o (Japanese) Sushi Nami Royale | https://sushinami.ca/
o LaFrasca Cibi & Vini (loud music) | http://lafrasca.ca/

High End Choices

o Chives Canadian Bistro | https://www.chives.ca/
o The Press Gang | http://www.thepressgang.ca/
o Haliburton Inn Stories Restaurant (inventive, regional cuisine) | http://www.thehalliburton.com/stories-restaurant/
o Bicycle Thief (loud music) | https://bicyclethief.ca/
o Cut Steakhouse | http://cutsteakhouse.ca/
o DaMaurizio Dining | https://damaurizio.ca/

Fresh fruit/smoothies/kombucha tea – Pete’s Frootique | http://petes.ca/

Ice Cream

o Dee Dee’s | http://deedees.ca/
o Cows Creamery | https://downtownhalifax.ca/member/cows-ice-cream

Charcuterie

o Ratinaud French Cuisine | http://ratinaud.ca/
o Agricola Street Brasserie | http://agricolastreet.ca/

Bakeries

o Laurent French | https://www.facebook.com/lffrenchbread/
o Julien’s | http://julienshydrostone.ca/
o Old Apothecary | https://www.theoldapothecary.com/
o Italian Market | https://www.italianmarket.ca/

Athletic Engagement Options

Games

Theatre

Private Art Galleries

Cinema